Guest Blog: First Lady Ann Scott Shares Love of Reading with Florida Students

I have loved reading for as long as I can remember. So, when I became First Lady, I knew I wanted to focus on literacy and share my passion for reading with Florida’s students. Rick and I were blessed with two daughters, Allison and Jordan, and while they were growing up we spent a lot of time as a family poring over books. Now, they are grown with families of their own and I have the pleasure of watching them show our grandsons, Auguste, Quinton and Sebastian, the joy of reading.

First Lady Ann Scott reads to her oldest grandson, Auguste, at the 2014 Florida Governor’s Mansion Easter Egg Hunt.

First Lady Ann Scott reads to her oldest grandson, Auguste, at the 2014 Florida Governor’s Mansion Easter Egg Hunt.

I was the oldest daughter of four children and my family did not have many books growing up, so we relied on the school and local libraries, where we spent countless hours perusing the shelves. It was there, between the rows of bookshelves, that I developed an abiding love for reading that has stayed with me my entire life.

In fact, some of my fondest childhood memories revolve around these trips to the library and the hours my siblings and I spent picking out as many books as we could carry home. In elementary school, I read all of the biographies in the school library. Then, as a pre-teen, I was introduced to classic literature from both Charlotte and Emily Bronte, including my favorite novel, Jane Eyre.

Who would have known that reading 19th century gothic literature in the back of the library would introduce me to the other love of my life, my husband, Rick. The very first time I met Rick was at our high school library in Kansas City, Missouri.

As Florida’s First Lady, I have had the opportunity to visit elementary, middle, and high schools from the Panhandle to the Keys to talk with students about making reading a part of their daily routine. Next week, January 26-30, we will begin the 2015 Celebrate Literacy Week, Florida!, with events and school visits across the state.

This is my fifth consecutive year participating in the annual event, which I believe is a wonderful reminder to students, parents and teachers that reading is absolutely fundamental to success both inside and outside the classroom.

I am encouraging all Floridians to join me in making literacy a priority in our homes and workplaces. You can visit Celebrate Literacy Week, Florida! for more information, including a list of exciting statewide events and initiatives.

Show how you are promoting literacy in your community by using the hashtag #CLW2015.

About the author: First Lady Ann Scott is a devoted wife, mother, and grandmother. High school sweethearts, the Governor and First Lady have been married for 42 years and have two married daughters, Allison and Jordan, and three adorable grandsons, Auguste, Quinton, and Sebastian. An avid reader, the First Lady loves traveling the state, sharing her passion for reading and literacy with Florida’s students.

Leave a Reply

